Decision taken on new vice-rectors

17 June 2020

Uppsala University’s current vice-rectors and deputy vice-rectors reach the end of their term of office on 30 June. The Vice-Chancellor has now decided who the new vice-rectors for the period 1 July 2020 – 30 June 2023 will be.

The vice-rectors chair the disciplinary domain boards in Uppsala University’s three disciplinary domains. They sit on the Vice-Chancellor’s Management Council and share in University-wide commitments.

Here are the new vice-rectors and deputy vice-rectors for the period 1 July 2020 – 30 June 2023:

Disciplinary Domain of Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Vice-Rector: Professor Tora Holmberg, Department of Sociology
  • Deputy Vice-Rector: Professor Mattias Martinson, Department of Theology

Disciplinary Domain of Medicine and Pharmacy

  • Vice-Rector: Professor Mats Larhed, Department of Medicinal Chemistry
  • Deputy Vice-Rector: Professor Eva Tiensuu Janson, Department of Medical Sciences

Disciplinary Domain of Science and Technology

  • Vice-Rector: Professor Johan Tysk, Department of Mathematics (re-elected for an additional period)
  • Deputy Vice-Rector: Professor Charlotte Platzer Björkman, Department of Materials Science and Engineering